in ,

Texas A&M Aggies head football coaches list: Names, years and records

Texas A&M Aggies football coaches
Texas A&M Aggies football coaches

Over the years, Texas A&M Aggies have had some of the biggest names in college football coaching history at the helm, including Bear Bryant, Gene Stallings, and R.C. Slocum.

More recently, Texas A&M has hired a number of former NFL coaches to lead its program, including Dennis Franchione, Mike Sherman, and Kevin Sumlin.

While none of these coaches were able to achieve the same level of success as Bryant, Stallings, and Slocum, they did help to lay the foundation for the Aggies.

If you’re an NFL fan who’s interested in learning more about the history of Texas A&M football, here is a list of all of the Aggies’ head coaches, along with a brief overview of their accomplishments:

F. Dudley Perkins – 1894

He served as the player-coach for the 1894 Texas A&M Aggies football team.

He was also a second baseman on the school’s baseball team in 1895.

Andrew M. Soule & Horace W. South – 1896

Andrew Soule served as the volunteer, co-head football coach with Horace W. South at Texas A&M University in 1896, compiling a record of 2–0–1.

C. W. Taylor – 1897

C. W. Taylor served as head football coach at Texas A&M for one season, leading the team to a 1-2 record in 1897.

H. W. Williams – 1898

H. W. Williams coached the 1898 Texas A&M Aggies to a 4-2 record in his lone season as a coach.

W. A. Murray – 1899–1901

He was the fifth head football coach at Texas A&M University, serving from 1899 to 1901 and compiling a record of 7–8–1.

J. E. Platt – 1902–1904

Platt was the sixth head football coach at Texas A&M University, serving for three seasons, from 1902 to 1904, and compiling a record of 8–5–3.

Walter E. Bachman – 1905–1906

Walter E. Bachman served as the seventh head coach of the Texas A&M Aggies from 1905 to 1906 finishing with a record of 13–3 (.813).

Lester Larson – 1907

Larson served as the head coach for one season at Texas A&M University in 1907, leading the Aggies to a 6–1–1 record.

Ned Merriam – 1908

Ned served as the ninth head coach for one season at Texas A&M University in 1908.

Charley Moran – 1909–1914

Moran began coaching football in 1909 at Texas A&M, where he accumulated a 38–8–4 record as head coach over six seasons through 1914.

Edwin Harlan – 1915–1916

He served as the head football coach at Texas A&M University from 1915 to 1916.

Dana X. Bible – 1917, 1919–1928

Dana X. Bible he was recruited to coach for Texas A&M University in 1916.

Bible also coached baseball and basketball at Texas A&M.

D. V. Graves – 1918

Graves was the head coach at Alabama, Texas A&M, and Washington, where he led the Huskies in Seattle for 24 seasons (1923–1946).

Madison A. Bell – 1929–1933

Matty Bell was a college football coach for nearly 30 years in the 1920’s, 30’s and 40’s, including five seasons as the head coach at Texas A&M from 1929-1933.

Homer H. Norton – 1934–1947

Homer served as the head football coach at Texas A&M University from 1934 to 1947, compiling a career college football record of 143–75–18.

Harry Stiteler – 1948–1950

After graduating from Texas A&M, Stiteler served as a high school football coach from 1931 to 1945.

Raymond George – 1951–1953

George was the 17th head coach of the Texas A&M Aggies in College Station, Texas.

He was head coach from 1951, until the completion of the 1953 season.

Paul “Bear” Bryant – 1954–1957

In 1954, Bryant accepted the head coaching job at Texas A&M University.

He served as athletic director while at Texas A&M.

James A. Myers – 1958–1961

James succeeded Bear Bryant as Texas A&M University coach from1958 – 1961.

Henry Foldberg – 1962–1964

Foldberg played college football for Texas A&M University and  later served as the head football coach of Texas A&M University in 1962.

Gene Stallings – 1965–1971

Stallings was named the head coach of his alma mater, Texas A&M, at the age of 29.

He coached the Aggies for seven seasons compiling a record of 27–45–1.

During his tenure, the Aggies won the Southwest Conference in 1967, Stallings’ only winning season at A&M.

Emory Bellard – 1972–1978

Emory Bellard became head coach at Texas A&M in 1972, taking over head-coaching duties from Gene Stallings.

In his seven years at Texas A&M, he finished with a record of 48–27 and three top-15 finishes.

Tom Wilson – 1978–1981

Tom was the head football coach at Texas A&M University team from 1978 to 1981.

Jackie Sherrill – 1982–1988

On January 19, 1982, Sherrill was hired by Texas A&M as a replacement for Tom Wilson, signing a record six year contract for over $1.7 million.

Sherrill was the head coach of the Texas A&M Aggies from 1982 to 1988.

R. C. Slocum – 1989–2002

Slocum served as the interim athletic director at Texas A&M University from January through June 2019, and served as the head football coach there from 1989 to 2002.

He has won more games as coach (123) than anyone else in Texas A&M Aggies football history.

Slocum was inducted into the College Football Hall of Fame as a coach in 2012.

Dennis Franchione – 2003–2007

Dennis served as Texas A&M University head coach from 2003–2007.

Mike Sherman – 2008–2011

Sherman became the head coach of the Texas A&M football team in November 2007.

He signed a seven-year contract that at the time paid him $1.8 million annually.

Kevin Sumlin – 2012–2017

On November 30, 2013, Sumlin agreed to a new six-year contract as head coach at Texas A&M.

The contract, valued at $30 million over six years, was guaranteed.

Jimbo Fisher – 2018–2023

On December 1, 2017, Fisher resigned as the head coach at Florida State University to accept the same job at Texas A&M University.

Fisher signed a 10-year, $75 million contract with the Aggies.

On November 12, 2023, Fisher was fired.

Written by GhLinks Media

This is the official publishing account of for all general based post .

Is Texas A&M interim coach Elijah Robinson married?

Is Texas A&M interim coach Elijah Robinson married?

Stephen Dwyer, Shane Barnes, Tanner Grone

Stephen Dwyer, Shane Barnes, Tanner Grone: Names and ages of Army soldiers killed in US military aircraft crash