Joe Wise and Fomena MP selected as first and second deputy speakers

Joe Wise
Joe Wise

Member of Parliament for Bekwai, Joseph Osei Owusu popularly known as Joe Wise, and the independent Member of Parliament for Fomena, Andrew Asiamah Amoako have been selected as the first and second deputy speakers respectively.

Parliament dissolved on 6th January 2021 and reassembled midnight 6th January 2021 to elect the new leadership of the 8th parliament and also swear in new members if the 8th parliament. In what turned out to be a long walk to victory, Alban Bagbin was finally elected as the Speaker of Parliament for the 8th parliament.

Prior to his selection as the first deputy speaker, Joe Wise served in that same capacity as in the 7th parliament. A lawyer by profession, he was nominated by Osei Kyei Mensah Bonsu, leader of the NPP fraction of the house, and was seconded by Haruna Iddrisu, leader of the NDC fraction of the house.

ALSO READ  Hon. ‘Joe Wise’ is not wise as his name suggests – Kwame A Plus

Fomena MP Andrew Asiamah Amoako prior to his selection was a former NPP MP for Fomena who ran independently after he disclosed some displeasure against him by the NPP and won accordingly. he is a lawyer by profession.

Written by K Oteng

K.Oteng is a reporter and editor for based in Accra-Ghana

Carlos Ahenkorah

Probe military invasion, unruly attitude of Carlos Ahenkorah in Parliament – Mahama

Akufo-Addo Declares 2021 ‘Second Year Of Roads’

Akufo-Addo Declares 2021 ‘Second Year Of Roads’