World Cup 2026: US-Mexico-Canada bid chosen as host


The United bid of the United States Football Federation, the Mexican Football Association and the Canadian Football Association, have won the rights to host the 2026 World Cup.

The United bid beat off stiff competition from Morocco in a vote on Wednesday. The United bid had 134 votes against Morocco’s 65 votes.

The 2026 tournament will be the biggest World Cup ever held – with 48 teams playing 80 matches over 34 days.


“Football is the only victor. We are all united in football,” US Soccer president Carlos Cordeiro said.

“Thank you so much for this incredible honour. Thank you for entrusting us with this privilege.”

Of the 211 Fifa member nations, 200 cast a vote at the 68th Fifa Congress in Moscow on Wednesday, with the winning bid needing a majority of 104.

Canada, Mexico, Morocco and the US were exempt, while Ghana was absent after the country’s government said it had disbanded its football association amid allegations of “widespread” corruption.

Three US territories – Guam, the US Virgin Islands and Puerto Rico – were among the other member nations to not vote.

Both Mexico (1970 and 1986) and the United States (1994) have previously hosted World Cups.

Canada staged the Women’s World Cup in 2015.

Written by Eugene Nyavor

Eugene Nyavor is the Founding Editor at Gh Links.

Reach me via Email: [email protected]

78090947 1

I’ve been married for 4 years – Wiyaala makes startling revelation

8316095638295 5484608281921

Fernando Hierro takes over as Spain boss for World Cup