Ibrahim Tanko Names 23 man Black Meteors squad for U23 AFCON

Coach of the National U23 team, Black Meteors, Ibrahim Tanko, has called his full 23 man squad to camp ahead of the tournament in Egypt.

Camping had resumed about 2 weeks ago with the local members of the Meteors resuming camp.

However, with the tournament drawing nearer, Ibrahim Tanko has put out his final squad ahead of the tournament.

Eleven foreign players are joining the team being led by Yaw Yeboah. There are  big misses in the squad, with Udinise defender, Nicholas Opoku not being able to make it.

Majid Ashimeru of  RB Salzburg, Dauda Mohammed, Bernard Tekpetey and Joseph Paintsil are also big misses for the squad as their clubs failed to give them the needed clearance.

However, striker Kwabena Owusu returns to give a big boost to the squad.

Full squad :


Kwame Baah (Asante Kotoko SC, Ghana)
Richmond Ayi (Hearts of Oak, Ghana)
Ibrahim Danlad (Asante Kotoko SC, Ghana)


Kingsley Fobi (CB Badajoz, Spain)
Edward Sarpong (Esperanca de Lagos, Spain)
Emmanuel Cudjoe (Attram De Visser, Ghana)
Fuseini Zackaria (Berekum Chelsea, Ghana)
William Dankyi (Hearts of Oak, Ghana)
Habib Mohammed (Asante Kotoko SC, Ghana)
Robin Polley (ADO Den Haag, Netherlands)


Evans Osei Wusu (Tema Youth FC, Ghana)
Simon Zibo (Vitoria Guimaraes, Portugal)
Nurudeen Abdul-Aziz (Vision FC, Ghana)
Emmanuel Lomotey (Extremadura UD, Spain)
Yaw Yeboah (Celta Vigo B, Spain)
Evans Mensah (HJK Helsinki, Finland)
Michael Agbekpornu (Dreams FC, Ghana)


Frank Arhin (Dalkurd FF, Sweden)
Kwabena Owusu (Cordoba CF, Spain)
Ropapa Mensah (Nashville SC, USA)
Samuel Obeng Gyabaa (Real Oviedo, Spain)

The U23 tournament is scheduled for later in the month with the top 3 clubs qualifying for the Olympic games in Tokyo 2020.

Ghana are looking to end a 16-year absence from the games.


Written by Eli Avot

Eli is a determined young man driven by his will to succeed and his passion for sports. Writer, presenter, pundit.

Andre Ayew named Swansea vice captain

Miss Malaiaka 2019 Winner

Phylis Vesta Boison crowned Miss Malaika 2019