FIFA Announce ‘The Best’ Coach Award Nominees.

IMG 20190801 091628 1

FIFA have announced a 10-man shortlist for ‘The Best’ Coach award. Last year’s winner, Didier Deschamps made the shortlist for the second year running as he looks to clinch the award again.

IMG 20190801 091628

This year’s The Best Coach nominees also featured one African, Algeria’s Djamel Belmadi.

IMG 20190801 091708

He made the list after an impressive AFCON saw Algeria clinch the trophy, conceding only 2 goals in the tournament, with only one from open play.

Another new name on the list was Peru coach Ricardo Gareca , who guided Peru to their most impressive tournament run in 46 years as the south american nation reached the Copa America final.

Treble winner Pep Guardiola and Champions League winner Jurgen Klopp also made the list.

Full list of nominees are:

1.Djamel Belmadi (ALG) – Algeria national team

2.Didier Deschamps (FRA) – France national team

3.Marcelo Gallardo (ARG) – River Plate

4.Ricardo Gareca (ARG) – Peru national team

5.Pep Guardiola (ESP) – Manchester City

6.Jurgen Klopp (GER) – Liverpool

7.Mauricio Pochettino (ARG) – Tottenham Hotspur

8.Fernando Santos (POR) – Portugal national team

9.Erik ten Hag (NED) – Ajax

10.Tite (BRA) – Brazil national team

For the women’s section, USA coach Jill Ellis made the list after their world cup winning campaign.

Joe Montemurro of Arsenal Women also made the list after an exceptional league winning campaign.

England manager, Phil Neville, also made the list after guiding England to the semis of the just ended world cup.

The full list of nominees are:

1.Milena Bertolini (ITA) – Italy national team

2.Jill Ellis (USA) – USA national team

3.Peter Gerhardsson (SWE) – Sweden national team

4.Futoshi Ikeda (JPN) – Japan U-20 national team

5.Antonia Is (ESP) – Spain U-17 national team

6.Joe Montemurro (AUS) – Arsenal

7.Phil Neville (ENG) – England national team

8.Reynald Pedros (FRA) – Olympique Lyonnais

9.Paul Riley (ENG) – North Carolina Courage

10.Sarina Wiegman (NED) – Netherlands national team

IMG 20190801 091716

Voting started right after the release and ends on 19th August.


Written by Eli Avot

Eli is a determined young man driven by his will to succeed and his passion for sports. Writer, presenter, pundit.

IMG 20190731 222423

Salah, Mane in 10-man shortlist for FIFA ‘The Best’ award.

Deborah Cox leads Women in Arts Panel Session in Accra

Deborah Cox leads Women in Arts Panel Session in Accra